A Loss for Words


These are the original Eponymous 4 recordings.

They were recorded with a Kawai K4 synthesizer, a Kawai Q-80 sequencer and a Tascam 424 Portastudio. It’s the only surviving recording from a burglary in 1998 that essentially trashed all the work I had done up till that point.

At the time, I thought the burglary was catastrophic, but it made me realize the equipment I had was limiting me. The music on these recordings weren’t the ones I heard in my head, and it took a decade of technological advances to let me realize what I wanted.

But a funny thing happened on the way there — these original recordings eventually became definitive. They weren’t what I heard in my head, but they were close enough and they were mine.

It makes me cringe to hear these recordings, but at the same time, they established what would eventually become Eponymous 4.

A note about the cover art: That unlabeled cassette tape is the actual tape from which these recordings come.


Track Title
1 Promises
2 Never Turn Back
3 Silver Sting
4 Five (Ambiguous Friendships)
5 Strivers for a Better Tomorrow
6 Faith in Religion
7 The Dreaming End
8 Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow
9 Beat of the Heart
10 No Exit
1 String Quartet No. 1: I. Allegro
2 String Quartet No. 1: II. Adagio
3 String Quartet No. 1: III. Allegro (reprise)
4 Downtown Downpour
5 Hear the Wind Sing
6 Wrong Again
7 Acid Vogue
8 The Nature of Things
9 Blood Money
10 Take It Apart


  • Recorded by Greg Bueno
  • Recorded 1991-1997, Honolulu, HI
  • Cover design by Greg Bueno
  • Published by Shinkyoku Advocacy (ASCAP)

[A Loss for Words]

  • Release date: May 27, 2016

Join the Newsletter

Get the news about the latest releases and events, including subscriber exclusives.